You are Going to Disney World Again? My Response


Castle from Right sideAs I am getting ready to book our next trip to Disney World in February already I can hear in my head all the people who ask where we are going on vacation this year say, “Didn’t you just go there?”  or my favorite, “You know there are other places to visit other than Disney World, right?”

Every time.

My response has become pretty automatic.

My family loves Disney World.  It is a place that we feel comfortable and can just play together.  One of the best things about Disney World is that it is ever-changing and it grows with my family but it stays just enough the same that it feels like home each time we visit.  Even thought my 14 year-old has been 14 times there are still things that she has not experienced yet and we can’t wait to share them with her and her brother.

Christmas CastleWe have seen Cinderella’s Castle dressed as a pink birthday cake, for the 50th anniversary and for holidays.  Or Spaceship Earth with the giant Mickey Hand and Wand.  Now with rumors of the possible removal of Sorcerer’s Mickey Hat from Walt Disney Studios we want to be able to see it for possibly the last time.

Epcot 2005The lands have changed.  Such as they added ToonTown and then made it into New Fantasyland.  New rides have been made and some old rides have been refurbished or closed to make way for new technologically advanced rides.  We have been able to ride The Under the Sea Journey of the Little Mermaid but can’t wait to try the new Seven Dwarfs Mine Train.

When we first started going to Walt Disney World we saw the model for Animal Kingdom in Celebration Hall and loved imagining what it would be like.  Now, we are looking at plans for the Avatar Land in Animal Kingdom that will be completed in the next few years.  We are imagining this with the kids and wonder what the next “big” thing will be.   We are only limited by our imagination.

Restaurants have been created or refurbished since our last trip.  We can’t wait to try California Grill or return to The Biergarten for a trip down memory lane.  We are foodies at heart and my kids love trying all the different restaurants around the world and in the resorts.  We always try one or two new restaurants each trip but there are a few that will continually be our favorites such as Crystal Palace.  A hug from Pooh Bear can make everything better.

Same kids 10 years laterMy children 10 years later at Crystal Palace.

We are not the same each time we go.  Both children started their trips when they were 18 months old and barely able to toddle down Main Street.  Some years we have been able to go twice in one year but even then they were not at the same point developmentally.  Starting out in strollers and then moving to a special needs stroller for our autistic son and now a scooter for Mommy we have moved through many stages of life with Disney.  We have learned what works for my son and he LOVES Disney.  He can talk endlessly about the movies, Walt Disney trivia and his future vision for the parks.

Family CollageTraveling with my parents in 2005 and with my Mother-in-Law 2011.

And our family make-up is not the same each time we go.  Sometimes it is just the four of us but over the years we have taken my brother and sister-in-law with us.   My parents have gone with us, including my Dad who used a scooter for the first time and realized how much easier it made his traveling.  My 93-year-old mother-in-law went with us for her first trip.  It was an amazing opportunity that my family will cherish forever.  When she died this past March we were able to share many of the picturse we have of her with the Disney characters and our family.  We even got my brother-in-law and sister-in-law to go with us.  Though I really think he went to humor his wife in the end they have been back 4 more times!

So, yes we are going to Disney World again.  Would you like to come with us sometime?   It is just great family fun and I would love to share it with you.

 

 

About koolaidmoms

I am a Mom of two that loves my family and all things Disney. I have been playing a game to see how many different meals I can make each weekday. These are our adventures in food and life.
This entry was posted in About Me, Inbetween Trips, Trip Planning Tips, Trip Reports and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to You are Going to Disney World Again? My Response

  1. emlmyers says:

    Every time i tell people my family are going to wdw again we get the exact same response so i know exactly how you feel! good response though 🙂

  2. I’m with you! I have the rare opportunity to take a solo trip and I decided to go to WDW… everyone was wondering “Again? You’ve been there 10+ times…” I don’t care! I can’t get enough! 🙂

    • koolaidmoms says:

      I love just having an hour or two by myself which I can do now that the kids are older. They wanted to both go on Splash Mountain and Big Thunder Mountain which are not my favorites so off they went with my partner to ride. I had two whole hours in Tomorrowland! A whole solo trip sounds like heaven!

      • I got 1 1/2 days at Disneyland alone a couple of years back. I had never been there before. It was really awesome exploring the parks at my own pace. Some people think it could get boring but I adamantly disagree! 🙂

  3. That drives me nuts when people say that. For our family doing Disney during Free dining has been a great value so we go often. Enjoy your trip!

    • koolaidmoms says:

      Thank you! We LOVE free dining and it just works for our family. Plus, I hate crowds and hot weather so February it is.

  4. I love this mission statement. I’ve been to Disney World a lot but it’s still my idea of a perfect family vacation. Tears come to my eyes sometimes when I remember how many childhood memories I have of that place, and how I get new memories every time I go.

    • koolaidmoms says:

      Thank you, I am hoping the same for my children. We love sharing stories over dinners and tons of “Remember when…” I want them to have great memories of our family times.

Leave a Reply

