Avatar in Animal Kingdom


The buzz over the last day or so is about adding a new land to Animal Kingdom.  It would be based on the movie Avatar. I have a confession to make, I have never seen Avatar.  I heard what a horrible storyline it had and despite the stunning cinematography I decided to pass on the movie.

Disney had originally planned an area in Animal Kingdom devoted to mythical creatures such as unicorns and dragons.  That land never materialized.  This seems to be taking the place of that land.

There will be two more Avatar movies coming out over the next few years.  My fear is that this franchise will not have the staying power to sustain interest in this new land.  Groundbreaking is scheduled for 2012.  Will anyone care about Avatar by 2013-2014?

I feel that this is a big gamble for Disney.  Will it be outdated even as it opens or will this move be so brilliant that it changes the trends of amusement parks forever.  Only time will tell.

What are your thoughts?

About koolaidmoms

I am a Mom of two that loves my family and all things Disney. I have been playing a game to see how many different meals I can make each weekday. These are our adventures in food and life.
This entry was posted in Information on Disney and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Avatar in Animal Kingdom

  1. Lucinda says:

    Well…I’ve seen the movie. It was ok, but it didn’t grab me (my oldest son LOVED it). In fact, I was never able to sit and watch the entire thing. And Avatarland…I don’t know if it will be any good either or if it will have any staying power, but I am very glad that they’re bringing anything new to Animal Kingdom park. I’m anxious to see what it will become.

Leave a Reply

