Hot Weather Ahead


As you can tell from the picture above, we are all wearing sweatshirts in December, we do not usually go to Walt Disney World during the warmest parts of the year. Usually my kids are some of the few running around in shorts and tee shirts in December or swimming in the pools when it is 50 degrees outside. But this year we are going to be in Walt Disney World at the end of May/beginning of June.

I am not a fan of hot weather. I do not like to be sweaty and drippy and my body does not react well to the heat. We are also taking my 93 year-old mother-in-law with us so we need to be extra sensitive to her and the heat also.

We plan on mostly touring in the late afternoon/early evening and staying late into the evenings in the parks when we can. We had made Advanced Dining Reservations for dinners to start our evenings off on a cooler note and plan on every person carrying a water bottle with them to refill frequently. During the day time will be spent in our hotel room or at the pool (even Grandma is buying a new bathing suit to go swimming!).

I am on the look-out for fans that spray a fine water mist and comfortable sun hats for everyone. Extra beach towels are on my packing list as well as lots of heavy duty sunblock. One thing I have learned is that seniors often forget the need to have sunblock on especially in this area.

We are taking an extra cushion and towel for Grandma’s wheelchair and for my son’s. Having two people in wheelchairs being pushed through the park will be an adventure. But, as we say every trip is a new adventure.

About koolaidmoms

I am a Mom of two that loves my family and all things Disney. I have been playing a game to see how many different meals I can make each weekday. These are our adventures in food and life.
This entry was posted in About Me, Trip Planning Tips and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hot Weather Ahead

  1. Lucinda says:

    I’m concerned about the heat too. I have never been to WDW so late in the spring. I guess we’ll sleep in, play late and swim a lot on this trip. Doesn’t sound too awful.

    Maybe I’ll see you there! 🙂

Leave a Reply

