Traveling with Grandma



We are getting ready for our 15th trip to Walt Disney World and will be traveling with my 93 year-old mother-in-law for her first trip to Walt Disney World!

We know this will be a different sort of vacation. But then again, each one is very different than the one before.

My brother-in-law and sister-in-law will be flying to Orlando, Florida with her and she will be staying in their room. We have rented a wheelchair for her and one for our son (with autism). So we will be traveling with 2 wheelchairs. We have assured her she will not slow us down as we will be traveling when it is VERY warm we will spend most of the day sleeping at the hotel or going in the pool and not going out until it is cooler in the evening.

We are taking her on a shopping trip soon to start to choose clothing to take. Most of her clothes are polyester so we have convinced her that she can only pack light colored cotton clothing, a large sun hat, sun block and sneakers (not high heels).

This will be a new adventure for us and one I am sure my children will always remember. I remember going to Walt Disney World with my grandmother when I was in 6th grade. We still tell stories to this day about Grandma on Space Mountain at every family gathering. Those are the kind of stories I want my kids to remember about their grandparents.

About koolaidmoms

I am a Mom of two that loves my family and all things Disney. I have been playing a game to see how many different meals I can make each weekday. These are our adventures in food and life.
This entry was posted in Trip Planning Tips and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

