Legal Seafood – Burlington, MA Mall


This wasn’t our first visit to Legal Seafood. In fact the trip to the mall today was specifically to have lunch at Legal Seafood before we headed back to New York. My children were excited because they LOVE seafood, they could also visit Build-a-Bear, the Disney Store and see a section of the mall where Paul Blart: Mall Cop was filmed. What can I say they are a seven-year-old and a ten-year-old. They have their priorities.

This was our first trip to Legal Seafood with a gluten free child. I have to say how impressed I was with the restaurant. They sent over gluten free rolls for our son even before our rolls arrived at the table. Usually my son just sits and watches us eat breads and rolls at restaurants but at Legal Seafood they had an option for him. He was so excited.

The manager then came out to speak with my son about what exactly he would like. So my seven-year-old ordered 1/2 a lobster with loaded mashed potatoes and 1 1/2 lbs. of mussels with butter and white wine no crushed red pepper.

My dearest son was in seafood heaven. He ate most of his half lobster with copious amounts of butter for dipping, almost all of his mussels and french fries. He deemed the mussels the best part of his meal and though he thought the lobster was “cool” he probably wouldn’t do it again as it was hard to eat even though it was all prepared for him to eat.

Now our ten-year-old loves clams. Though there were only raw clams on the lunch menu but they prepared 1 1/2lbs. of clams in butter and white wine for her. She could easily have started on another dozen or so but was very happy that she had been near the ocean for fresh seafood.

I was in the mood for something a bit lighter after having spent the weekend eating every meal out. I tried the grilled scallops with mashed potatoes. The scallops were well cooked with a bit of smokey flavor. The mashed potatoes were creamy and comforting. Just what I was looking for. I only wish this meal had a side of roasted vegetables and it would have been totally perfect. I realize that most restaurants, including Disney restaurants, are no longer adding vegetables or sides to most entrees and I believe that this is a huge mistake. As a nation we are trying to encourage people to eat fruits and vegetables and yet we are removing them from the places were most people eat – restaurants.

My partner was still in the mood for fried food so she went all out on the fried clams and shrimp plate with fries and coleslaw. It was so large even this hearty eater could not finish it. The clams and shrimp were well cooked and not heavily breaded.

Overall this was an excellent meal and we cannot wait to return to Legal Seafood.

About koolaidmoms

I am a Mom of two that loves my family and all things Disney. I have been playing a game to see how many different meals I can make each weekday. These are our adventures in food and life.
This entry was posted in Non-Disney Restaurants and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

