Registering for Social Media Moms Conference an Education in Itself



I spent the better part of the afternoon on-line trying to register for the Disney Social Media Moms Conference being held in March at the Grand Floridian in Walt Disney World. I am fairly new to blogging and using Social Media as promotion but I am trying to learn all I can as quickly as I can and thought this sounded like a really fun thing to do. Little did I know how much I would learn about Social Media ust in registering for the conference.

Registration had opened at 2:00 pm but I didn’t get on-line until 2:08 pm as I was volunteering at the kid’s school today. I didn’t think it would really matter but when I entered the website address there was a message that it would “refresh” every ten seconds until I could be let in. GULP. I quickly got on Twitter to see if anyone else I knew was having an issue or if the registration was closed after only 8 minutes.

I saw hundreds of Tweets flying by. Most people were stuck at the same point I was but once in awhile someone would “break through” and announce they had finally submitted their registration. I also logged into Facebook as I was waiting to see if anyone was posting more information. It too was moving but not as quickly as Twitter. There was a commercial I remember from when I was little that went something like, “you’ll tell two friends and they’ll tell two friends and so on and so on…” Here it was happening in the blink of an eye.

People were tweeting wondering what #DisneySMMoms was all about. It made me smile because even in the registering there were more people finding out about Social Media Moms and Disney World. They were both being promoted by us even in the registering process as we were all on Twitter and Facebook talking about them.

Almost an hour and a half later after a frantic phone call asking for help I was able to register. I hope I am chosen to attend the conference. For the first time I am clearly seeing how all of this can be a benefit if used properly and I am sure we will be shown so much more during the conference. But, for now I sit and wait.

About koolaidmoms

I am a Mom of two that loves my family and all things Disney. I have been playing a game to see how many different meals I can make each weekday. These are our adventures in food and life.
This entry was posted in About Me, Information on Disney and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

