Dole Whips


The Dole Whip.  Say this to some Disneyphiles and they start to drool.  Never having tried this treat I had to search it out for myself.

In the Magic Kingdom at Aloha Isle in Adventureland, across from the Swiss Family Treehouse, is tucked the home of the Dole Whip and the Dole Whip float.  They are also available at the Polynesian Resort but Magic Kingdom is where we found ours.    At 12:30 am on a sultry Spring evening during Extra Magic Hours this treat was sounding better and better.

The Dole Whip according to Wikipedia “has the taste and consistency of soft-serve ice cream, the dessert actually gets its texture from ordinary food thickeners. The only dairy content is a small amount of the milk derivative sodium caseinate.”  In Disney World the float is a glass of pineapple juice with the pineapple “ice cream” on top.

One sip later I found this concoction refreshing and sweet.  The pineapple juice quenched my thirst but the confection as a whole was too much for me.  I found it too sweet and just not something I cared to eat.  Was I a Dole Whip convert?  Sadly no.  Will I have one again.  Most likely.  But is it a treat that I will search out time and time again?  No.

Also we tried the Citrus Swirl.  A day-glo orange combination of frozen orange and vanilla soft serve ice cream, this picture does not do it justice. My children swore to me it tasted like a creamsicle.   Remembering this sweet childhood treat I took a big bite.  It was not the creamsicle I remembered.  If anyone remembers chewable St. Joseph’s Baby Aspirin from the 1960’s and 1970’s this was the exact taste.  Not a taste I cared for at all.

Try it for yourself.  Some people swear it is heaven on earth.  As for me I am still looking for that quintessential Disney snack that I can find each time and know this taste is Disney for me.

About koolaidmoms

I am a Mom of two that loves my family and all things Disney. I have been playing a game to see how many different meals I can make each weekday. These are our adventures in food and life.
This entry was posted in Restaurant Reviews, Trip Reports and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

